John Cameron, past Chairman of Scotrail and member of British Railways Board.  Owner of mainline steam locomotives designed by Sir Nigel Gresley, A4 No 60009 Union of South Africa, and K4 No 61994 The Great Marquess.

The Gresley Society Trust  is run by the Council.  They are all volunteers and as of March 2017 they are:



Philip Benham.

Another career railwayman who spent many years with British Railways and recently retired Managing Director of The North Yorkshire Moors Railway

Vice Chairman

Graeme Bunker-James



Christopher Clark



Mike Foreman.
A former Lloyd’s Insurance Broker finance employee and experienced fireman on the N2 and smaller gauges.

Membership Secretary

Chris is another former bank employee and keen photographer up to the end of steam on British Railways in 1968.  Chris is also the Editor of The Gresley Observer.

Locomotive Manager

David McIntosh

Career raiwayman and our locomotive manager looking after the N2 locomotive on visits to heritage railways.  Author of four railway books, and operations director of the Main Line Steam Locomotive Operators Association since 1996.

Meetings Secretary

Ian is a retired Research & Development engineer, and is also a keen photographer. He is a representative of the N2 on tour. 

Publicity Manager



Other members of Council

Robin Beynon.  Had a career in Human Resources.  This included 10 years with railway engineering companies on large infrastructure projects.    

Paul Bush

Ron Vale